A Second DUI Offense Is A Serious Matter That Requires The Assistance Of A Serious Attorney
If you live in Philadelphia or another Pennsylvania community and have been accused of driving drunk for the second time in 10 years, you will face even harsher penalties if you are convicted. With the help of an experienced attorney, you can take meaningful action against the charges and explore opportunities for mitigating the consequences.
Understanding The Penalties Associated With A Second DUI Charge
Second-offense DUI is typically a misdemeanor charge. In Pennsylvania, a conviction can result in five days to six months in jail, as well as $300 to $2,500 in fines. This is in addition to a one-year driver's license suspension and installation of an ignition interlock device for a year. Note that these are the penalties for those with blood alcohol content (BAC) test results between .08 and .10. Higher BAC levels will result in more severe penalties. Penalties are similarly serious in New Jersey.
Helping You Stand Up To DUI Charges
Attorney John Della Rocca at The Law Offices of John Della Rocca encourages people to fight DUI charges, whether it is a first offense, second offense or subsequent offense. With 20 years of experience, he knows that there are almost always options available.
In some counties in Pennsylvania and New Jersey, there are actually specific programs available for second offenders. Such a program may allow for a reduced sentence. For example, a person sentenced to 90 days in jail may be able to spend a certain number of weekends in jail instead, with the rest of the time spent on house arrest. Of course, it may also be possible to attack the charges and win the case or have it dismissed entirely.
When You Face Criminal Charges, It's Time To Contact A Lawyer Who Handles Cases In Your Area
If you have been accused of DUI again, take action to ensure that it does not impact your life. Let John Della Rocca help you secure the results that you need to move forward with your life.